The Democratic Republic of Congo is a country of vast and complex Central Africa, a country in the process of being reconstituted. Because after the years of the 90s and 2000s when the country has totally lost its state and institutional symbols, the country is slowly trying to get out of this chasm, even if the pace is not regular and often very slow. In turn we will present the institutions of the country, its geographical location, historical, economic, social, health and sports. To this is added the presentation of the provincial governments.

The country is also called simply Congo or DR Congo or DRC but also "Congo-Kinshasa" to differentiate it from the neighboring Republic of Congo, itself called "Congo-Brazzaville" for the same reason. From 1908 to 1960, this former colony was called Belgian Congo but also "Congo-Leopoldville" until 1966, date of the renaming of the capital in Kinshasa. With Zairianization, the country was called Zaire from 1971 to 1997.

Congo is the second largest country in Africa after Algeria. It extends from the Atlantic Ocean to the Eastern Plateau and corresponds to most of the Congo River Basin. The north of the country is one of the largest areas of equatorial forest in the world, the east of the country borders the Great East African rift, area of ​​mountains, hills, Great Lakes but also volcanoes. The south and the center, domain of wooded savannahs, form a high plateau rich in ores. In the far west, about 40 kilometers north of the mouth of the Congo River is a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. The country shares its borders with the enclave of Cabinda (Angola) and the Republic of Congo in the west, the Central African Republic and South Sudan in the north, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania to the south. east, Zambia and Angola to the south.

The country is divided into 26 provinces namely: Bandundu, Equateur, Ituri Mongala Nord Kivu Nord Ubangi Sud Kivu Sud Ubangi Tshuapa Bas Uele Haut Katanga Haut Uele Ituri Kasai Oriental Kongo Central Kwango Kwilu Lomami Maniema Mongala Nord Ubangi Sankuru Sud Ubangi Tshopo Tshuapa and Kinshasa, the capital. Provinces are subdivided into districts, districts into territories (communes in urban areas) and sectors.

National anthem: Congolese standing

Congolese standing,
United by lot,
United in the effort for independence.
Let's make our foreheads long curved
And for good, let's take the best momentum,
In peace.
O ardent people
By the toil
We will build a more beautiful country than before
In peace.
Sing the sacred hymn of solidarity
Greet the golden emblem of your sovereignty
Blessed gift, Congo!
Some ancestors, Congo!
O country, Congo!
Beloved, Congo! We will populate your soil
and we will ensure your greatness.
Thirty June, O Sweet Sun Thirty June, June 30
Holy day, the witness,
Holy day, immortal
Oath of freedom
What we leave
To our posterity

Debout Congolais Hymne National de la RDC